You are here: Home › Contact › Directory of Officers
Directory of Officers, Trustees and Affiliated Personnel

David J. Gass (2017)
Miller Johnson
250 Monroe Ave. NW, Suite 800
Grand Rapids, Michigan 49503-2250
(616) 831-1717; fax (616) 988-1717

Vice President:

James S. Brady (2016)
Dykema Gossett PLLC
300 Ottawa Avenue, NW, Suite 700
Grand Rapids, MI 49503 US
616-776-7500 fax 616-776-7573

Secretary: Donald A. Davis
Springstead Bartish & Borgula Law PLLC
15 Ionia Ave., S.W. #520
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

President Emeritus:
James A. Mitchell (2018)
Mitchell Intellectual Property Law, PLLC.
P.O. Box 68330
Grand Rapids, Michigan 49516
(616) 965-2431; cell (616) 540-2677

Board of Trustees:

Tracey Cordes (2016)

Mark S. Hurwitz, Ph.D., JD (2017)
Western Michigan University

Hon. Ray Kent (2017)
United States Magistrate Judge

Ray B. Loeschner, Ph.D. (2018)
Loeschner Enterprises

Michael A. MacDonald (2016)
Assistant United States Attorney

Stephen MacGuidwin (2016)
Michigan Health Lawyers

Hugh Makens (2017)
Warner Norcross & Judd LLP

Jahel H. Nolan (2016)
U.S. Bankruptcy Court Western District of Michigan

Eugene E. Smary (2018)
Warner Norcross & Judd LLP

John Smietanka (2017)
Smietanka Buckleitner Steffers & Gezon

Ruth Stevens (2018)
Grand Valley State University

Ex Officio Members:
Hon. Paul L. Maloney
Chief Judge, United States District Court

Hon. Robert Holmes Bell
United States District Court Judge
Hugh W. Brenneman, Jr.
Court Historian

Past Presidents:
Hugh W. Brenneman, Jr. (2002-04)

Charles E. Chamberlain, Jr., Esq. (2005)

Michael A. MacDonald, Esq. (2006-07)

John H. Logie. (2007-10)

James A. Mitchell (2010-12)


Donald A. Davis
Federal Bar Liaison

Gordon Olson
Oral History Project Chair

Mary Andrews, Librarian (Archivist)
United States District Court